New Gym Floor for Hall of Fame Game

Withrow’s water damaged gym floor is now replaced and ready for the Athletic Hall of Fame Game induction ceremony on Friday, February 10, 2017 at half-time of the Withrow–Glen Este varsity boys’ basketball game.  Game time is 7:30 P.M. Mark your calendar now.

The Withrow Athletic Hall of Fame inductees are:

  • Horace Pumphrey – Class of 1942 – 4 year Football letter winner, 1st Team All-City 3 years, 1941 1st Team All-State; and Track letter in 1942 before entering the Marine Corps in WWII.
  • Joe Brefeld – Class of 1957 – Outstanding all-around athlete earning 7 Varsity letters – 3 in Baseball and 2 each in Football and Basketball before playing Football and Baseball at the University of Michigan
  • Tyrone Hill – Class of 1986 – 2 year Basketball letter winner, 1st Team All-City and 3rd Team All-State in 1986; received scholarship to Xavier University and became a 1st round draft pick culminating in a 14 year NBA career.
  • Brandon Hunter – Class of 1999 – 2 year Basketball letter winner. inside force on 1998 State Final Four team; received scholarship to Ohio University leading nation in rebounding in 2002-03 and drafted in NBA 2nd
  • Skyler Willis – Class of 2011 – 4 year Volleyball letter winner (2010 Conference Player of the Year), 4 year Track letter winner (sprints/high jump on 2 State Runner-Up teams); received scholarship to Akron University earning Mid-American Conference and national recognition as a hurdler, high jumper, and Pentathlon athlete.

Leave a Reply

I accept the Privacy Policy